Your online home for Joplin area sports coverage.

CROSS COUNTRY: Area athletes named to all-region teams

SoMo Sports staff reports


A large group of local athletes were named to the Southwest Cross Country Coaches Association’s all-region teams.

Listed below are the Joplin area athletes who were recognized in each class.



Joplin’s Chance Tindall and Ian Horton and Webb City’s Evan Stevens were named all-region first-team for Class 5.

Webb City’s Mason Hedger, Spencer Kendall and Andrew Dawson and Joplin’s Grey Edwards were second-team selections.

Carthage’s Eddy Fuentes and Webb City’s Noah Lankard were honorable mention picks. 

On the girls side, Webb City’s Brooke Hedger and Joplin’s Katherine Schaefer were named second-team all-region.

Named to the honorable mention team were Webb City’s Emma McKinzie, Olivia Klotz, Amelia Antillon and Emily Countryman. 



Carl Junction’s Isaac Willoughby was named to the first-team all-region squad in Class 4.

On the second-team were Carl Junction’s Jack Lawson and Luke Battagler. McDonald County’s Caleb Garvin was an honorable mention selection.

On the girls side, Carl Junction’s Madilyn Dalton and Marissa Newman were second-team selections.

Named to the honorable mention team were Carl Junction’s Delaney Harris and Audrey Fletcher, McDonald County’s Kate Cheney, Monett’s Mary Jastal and Nevada’s Brynley Hedges.



East Newton’s Chase Sorrell was the region’s Class 3 boys runner of the year. 

Sorrell and Lamar’s duo of Cameron Bailey and Ryder Friend were first-team picks. 

Honorable mention selections were Cassville’s Ethan Bohmke, Aurora’s Carsen Gillam, Lamar’s Pierce Heins and East Newton’s Nicholas Schaeffer.

On the girls side, Lamar’s Abigail Diggs and Cassville’s Jadyn Williams-Reed were first-team picks.

Mount Vernon’s Rylee Simons was selected to the second team.

College Heights Christian’s Marla Anderegg and Jesalin Bever were honorable mention selections, along with East Newton’s Brooklyn Blanchard and Lamar’s Carly Durham and Leilani Toves.



College Heights Christian’s Colton McMillan was a first-team pick in Class 2.

Diamond’s Wyatt Housh was listed on the second team, while CHC’s Owen Horton and Connor Jordan, Purdy’s Jayden Griffis and Logan Manwarren were selected to the honorable mention team.

Pierce City’s Emma Hunt was a first-team selection on the girls team.

Sarcoxie’s Laney Dorris, Pierce City’s Lauren Blackburn and Purdy’s Courtney Patterson were honorable mention picks. 



McAuley Catholic’s Michael Parrigon was a first-team all-region selection in Class 1.

Thomas Jefferson’s Liam Cook and Braden Honeywell-Lynch, McAuley’s Trae Veer and Will Mollnow and Jasper’s Leland Harris were listed on the second team.

McAuley’s Olivia Parrigon and Kendall Ramsey were first-team selections on the girls side, along with Liberal’s Ally Barton and Taylor Swarnes.

Second-team picks were Liberal’s Abby Barton and Bailey Couch and Thomas Jefferson’s Macie Shifferd.

Honorable mention picks were Liberal’s Jordan Goodell, Thomas Jefferson’s Sarah Mueller and McAuley’s Riley Sears.


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Table of Contents

On Key

Related Posts