Your online home for Joplin area sports coverage.

BASEBALL: Area players named all-state by MHSBCA

SoMo Sports staff reports


The Missouri High School Baseball Coaches Association has released its all-state teams for 2022.

In Class 6, Joplin senior Kyler Stokes was a second-team selection as an outfielder. 

From the Central Ozark Conference, Nixa’s Keith Piepmeier (pitcher), Jaret Nelson (catcher) and Sam Russo (outfielder) earned second-team honors, while Republic’s Gavyn Beckner was an honorable mention pick at catcher. 

McDonald County and Webb City had players selected all-state in Class 5.

McDonald County senior Levi Helm was a first-team pick at pitcher, while classmate Cole Martin was a first-team selection at catcher. 

Webb City junior Cy Darnell was a second-team pick as an infielder. 

Also earning honors in Class 5 from the COC were Willard’s Cooper Wilken (P), Kyden McMain (C), Owen Bushnell (OF), Klayton Kiser (OF) and Kade Biellier (DH/UT) and Branson’s Carter Jenkins (DH/UT).

Aurora and Nevada had players selected in Class 4.

Aurora’s Trey Mulholland was a first-team pitcher, Jaesik Friggle was a first-team infielder, Aaron Fisher was an honorable mention outfielder and Hayze Hoffman was a second-team pick at designated hitter/utility.

Nevada’s Case Sanderson was a first-team pick at outfielder, while Cade Beshore was a second-team selection at catcher. 

Lamar’s Mason Gastel was an honorable mention pick at outfielder in Class 3. 

Recognized in Class 2 were Purdy’s Ezequiel Garcia (second-team IF) and Travis Hughes (second-team OF). Selected in Class 1 were Liberal’s Payton Morrow (second-team OF) and Justin Payne (HM IF).


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Table of Contents

On Key

Related Posts